Jury 2018

Juries for REC for Kids

In the jury of professionals for REC for Kids (competition 6 – 15 years) are this year:

Ralph Etter
Ralph Etter was born on December 22, 1978 in Solothurn (Switzerland). He completed his studies in directing at the Hochschule für Gestaltung und Kunst in Zurich in 2004 with the sensitive movie „Wackelkontakt“, which was shown at numerous festivals worldwide and won internationally renowned prizes.
In 2005 Ralph Etter received a scholarship from the Young Academy of the Arts and moved from Zurich to Berlin. One year later he went to Copenhagen with the Yvonne LangChardonnens scholarship to deepen his script-writing skills. In 2009, he realised his first cinema movie „Cargo“, for which he co-directed at short notice.
In the same year he also received another scholarship, the „Werkjahrbeitrag des Schweizer Kantons Solothurn“. In 2015 he joined the selection committee of the International Film Festival in Berlin for the section „Generation“ and since 2016 he has been working as an external lecturer at the Zurich University of Art and Design.


Marie-Ulrike Callenius
Marie-Ulrike Callenius does film and art projects and works as a designer in the media and design sector. Raised in Berlin, she studied documentary and experimental film at the Hochschule der Künste.
She produces long and short films and has worked on various research projects and participative films in Italy, China and Cuba, among others.
11 years ago she founded the PAPIERKINO ( www.papierkino.de ) and since then has produced over 40 short films with children, young people and adults.
She works in Berlin – and nationwide, designs projects, courses, further education and creative seminars. Participation in festivals, symposia and workshops.
Many projects in recent years have focused on young refugees and welcome classes. She is currently working on a new film project about the discovery of Berlin by children who are new to the city and the design of a game as material for language education.

In the Kids Jury are

Diana Stoffel
(age 11)
I’m going to 7th grade in Berlin Mitte. I’ve always watched a lot of movies with my sister. I like to see new things. My hobbies are sports, drawing & handicrafts and Netflix.

Wanda Stoffel
(age 12)
I go to 8th grade in Berlin Mitte and love movies and series. I’ve been watching movies since I was very young. Meanwhile, my favorite shows are American ones. Unlike my sister, I can watch films and series two or three times – preferably with a happy ending. My hobbies are Netflix, reading, dancing, writing and drawing.

Ronja Tenhaven
I am twelve years old and live in Berlin. I love to ride and have been riding for a long time. I have a dog and I often take care of a friend’s horse. I also like to swim and do a lot of other things. When watching a film I want the films to be entertaining, interesting, thoughtful, funny or mystical. I like all kinds of films and I am very happy to be part of the film jury.

Noam Schwitzke
I am 12 years old and live in Berlin. I read a lot, like classical music and play the viola. And I like to travel and have a diving license. I don’t watch TV at all, but I watch Netflix and YouTube videos. I like animated movies, e.g. the Dragon Riders and recently I saw a Finnish documentary that I liked very much: „Hobby Horse Revolution“, which is about a group of girls and their hobby, hobby horse riding.


In the jury for REC Internationales junges Filmfestival (competition 16 to 27 years) are this year:

Jan Tenhaven
Regina Holzkamp
Jannis Alexander Kiefer

This year is on the jury for the Docu-Clip (awarded by the International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film):

Kim Busch

The award for the best Berlin Film will be given by Ziegler Film.

Additional Ziegler-Film-Production will allocate a traineeship at their forthcoming film or tv production.